Training Camp in Two Days

Training camp begins in less than 48 hours and I am getting NERVOUS! My emotions are on a twisted rollercoaster of excitement, anticipation, and fear. I can’t wait to meet the coaching staff and my future teammates on Friday night in Burlington and I’m praying all the hard work and preparation I’ve put in over the last few months pays off.

On top of all this CWHL excitement, the NHL pre season just kicked off in full swing this week and I’ve been able to watch my precious Habs play twice this week. Hockey is BACK!

There have been a few changes in my personal life as well lately:

  • I lost my job on my dad’s birthday last week. At first I was super bummed out. I’ve never been terminated from a job before so my ego was definitely bruised. I went to the gym right after finding out the news and I realized to myself – ‘hey, I’m getting paid to run on a treadmill right now’. I like to look at the positives so I started thinking about how stressed and miserable the job was making me, how unfocused on my upcoming hockey season it was making me, and how it was not even a job I went to school for. Now I can focus on my rookie CWHL season and find a job I actually love in the media industry, like I went to school for.

 

  • Now for the good news -I am engaged! It’s still so surreal. I’m no longer just somebody’s girlfriend; I am somebody’s FIANCE!  I’ve been planning the wedding like crazy the last 3 weeks we’ve been engaged, trying to get as much done as possible before hockey takes over my life. The wedding is set for September 2, 2012. Don’t worry, even though my last name will change next year you can still call me “Bouf”!

 

The remaining two days before training camp begins I plan to keep thing simple and relaxed. Out of fear of straining anything I won’t be doing any heavy lifting at the gym, but will continue to hit the bike and treadmill for some cardio.

Burlington’s returning players will be joining the draft picks (like me) for training camp September 23-25. For anyone who is interested, the training camp schedule is below:

Friday, September 23 @ Appleby Pad 3 – 8:30-9:30pm

Saturday, September 24 @ Appleby Pad 2 – 6:30-8:00pm

Sunday, September 25 @ University of Guelph – 2pm puck drop * Exhibition Game *

 

Friday and Saturday are inter squad games – players will be divided into two teams and compete against each other. Sunday is a full length exhibition game – three 20 minute periods with intermissions.

After the game on Sunday I will be doing an interview with Scott Macumber on Blog Talk Radio and will also be writing a post training camp blog.

Stay tuned, friends!

Leave a Reply

