Getting Back Into It

After a few months hiatus from my blog between moving, starting two new jobs, a concussion and wedding planning, I am ready to update you.

I sustained a concussion back in June while playing summer hockey (not competitive hockey either) when I crashed into the end boards after scoring a goal.

I suffered from post-concussion symptoms for over three months, had to miss two full weeks of work from my part time job and another one and a half weeks from my full time job.

Only three weeks ago was I able to get back on the ice for the first time; since I was trying to find a winter team to play on and that was when they had their tryout.

I wasn’t supposed to get back onto the ice that quickly, without first spending weeks in the gym getting closer to being allowed to participate in a non contact practice.

I attended an exhibition game and only managed to play three shifts in the first period before hanging up my skates because the headaches and dizziness were coming back.

A week later, a second team had their last tryout so I had to get back on the ice again so this other coach could see me skate. I managed to participate in 35 minutes of the drills and another 15 minutes of scrimmaging before I decided to leave that practice early too.

After that tryout, I felt some of the post-concussion symptoms for a few days and once they were gone I went to the gym for a cardio session on the elliptical.

I was asked to attend a rec level exhibition game a few days later, so another coach could see me skate, which was my first full game back. I had a bit of a headache and some dizziness right after, but it went away within the hour and didn’t come back.

The next day I went to an Intermediate A tryout, which was a full out practice. I haven’t had a full practice in over 4 years, let alone 3 months following a concussion and no gym time, so I didn’t expect it to go over very well.

I had to take a break halfway through the skate for 10 minutes, and had a bit of a headache afterwards again that went away within the hour.

This past week I managed to get to the gym, finally, on Wednesday after feeling a little under the weather. It was my first huge workout since sustaining the concussion.

I ran 1.6 miles in 18 minutes followed by 30 minutes of strength training, including push-ups, lunges, squats, planks, crunches, bench presses, dips and pull-ups.

I felt AMAZING after the workout and wanted to spend another hour working out but knew I shouldn’t push it.

Sunday I was back on the ice again for a second skate with the Intermediate A team and it was awesome! I had no dizziness and no headaches throughout the practice, including after taking a huge collision with another player on the ice.

Now I am ready to get back into the best shape of my life so I can have a great hockey season while preparing for ball hockey in the summer.

Tonight I will be starting the 6 month workout program in the New Rules of Lifting for Women.

I will be blogging about the program along the way, including some before and after photos with updates after each stage of the program.

I am doing this program to regain the muscle I lost and then some, and improve my hockey game. Weight loss is not the ultimate goal; I should actually gain some weight with the added muscle.

To start, here are my stats as of October 1, 2012:

Weight: 124.8 pounds

Chest: 33 inches

Waist: 25.7 inches

Hips: 36 inches

One thigh: 20.6 inches

One arm: 9.8 inches

Here are “before” photos that I took this morning upon waking up: A front profile view and a side profile view, showing the obliques and my calf muscles.

  

Some more “before” photos from this morning. Another front view, and a side view showing my arm muscle definition:

   

Upon completion of stage 1 of the workout program (takes about 6-8 weeks to complete) I will post a blog with updated photos.

I apologize to all my readers who were expecting content on the Montreal Canadiens, but with the season locked out, I had to find something else to write about. I hope you find my journey through this program just as interesting!

2 thoughts on “Getting Back Into It

  1. Pingback: New Rules of Lifting for Women – Phase 1 Update | Habsolutelywonderful

Leave a Reply

